Neville Coughlan, PhD

Chief Executive Officer

Neville holds a Ph.D. in chemical physics and has worked as a postdoc at Melbourne, Oxford, and Waterloo. He is best known for shooting lasers at small molecules inside mass spectrometers - he has published 23 peer-reviewed articles on the subject and has presented his work at many international conferences.

Larry Campbell, PhD

Chief Technology Officer

Larry has been using mass spectrometers and other analytical instrumentation to solve downright bizarre molecular puzzles for more than 25 years. Many of those stories have been published in 65 peer-reviewed journal articles and 20 patents.

Josh Featherstone, PhD

Data Scientist

Josh is a whiz with scientific computing. He completed his PhD at the University of Waterloo and, in parallel with WaterMine duties, is conducting postdoctoral research at the University of Oxford.

Jeff Crouse, PhD

Data Scientist

Jeff holds degrees in theoretical chemistry and physics, and has professional experience as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Waterloo and as a data scientist for the Canadian Space Agency.

Arthur Lee, BSc

Data Scientist

Arthur holds a BSc in Chemical Phyiscs and is currently a PhD candidate in physical chemistry at the University of Waterloo. He specializes in applying machine learning to chemical systems.

Dan Rickert, MSc

Research Scientist

Dan is currently a PhD candidate in the Hopkins and Pawliszyn Research Groups at the University of Waterloo. His PhD research is primarily focused on the development and characterization of a prototype ion mobility spectrometer. Besides this, he also has extensive experience in sample preparation and liquid chromatography coupled to mass spectrometry. Currently, he holds a NanoFellowship from the Waterloo Institute of Nanotechnology and is an Ontario Graduate Scholar.

W. Scott Hopkins, PhD


Scott has 20 years of experience as a professional scientist. He has published 76 peer-reviewed articles and holds 3 patents. In his spare time, he runs a research program and is a professor of physical chemistry at the University of Waterloo.